Horror Art – Aurora Model Kit box art

aurora universal monsters 2

Horror Art – Aurora Model-Kit box art

The box art of the original Aurora models painted by artist James Bama, have become prized collector items. Bama was commissioned for the newly emerging line of Aurora Horror Models creating the box art that many of us know. His oil paintings of the classic Universal Monsters really brought the kit boxes to life. Dave Cockrum took over much of the duties in the 1972, painting the box-art as well as designing some of the models. His reign in the art department developed the Monster Scenes line in the mid-1970’s.

The Cro-Magnon Woman original art recently sold at auction for $2,000. For much of the Aurora Prehistoric Scenes, the box artist is unknown. Some of the original design sketches are credited to HMS Associates and B. Brown but it is unknown if Brown did the actual box art. These kits were designed and released between 1970 and 1972 – after Bama left the illustration field and before Cockrum had began working at Aurora.

the horned dino

Here is a look at some of the great artwork from the Aurora model kit collection, as well as a few Aurora Fantasy Boxes and the Aurora Prehistoric Scenes line.

Gallery 1

 

 

Some companies have commissioned new artists to paint Aurora style boxes of model-kits that many of us wished were made, in what are called, Aurora Fantasy Boxes. So you can find a box for Attack of the 50 Foot Woman, but realize the model was never made; the box is new artwork made in the old Aurora style.

Gallery 2

The Prehistoric Scenes became my favorite collection just because of the size and scope of the models.

Gallery 3

Credit for some info relayed here attributed to:
www.tylisaari.com
www.morbidmonster.com
www.universalmonsterarmy.com 

9 thoughts on “Horror Art – Aurora Model Kit box art

  1. Thanks. The four on top bring back so many memories. I had the originals you painted (including Lon Chaney as The Phantom of the Opera) and then I added the one with the glow in the dark head and hands. I also had the King Kong and Godzilla models. I had shelves of them and I saved the boxes for the longest time but I have no idea where they are now. Thanks for the memories!

    • yeah, great time to be a kid. Had most of the monsters except the Hunchback and the Phantom. Just recently getting back into model kits, got Forgotten Prisoner, Godzilla and a few others. This post was about the box art but I’m going to post a more in-depth look at the models soon.

  2. Interesting post! Those model kit boxes really do have some great art work on them. Back when I was a kid, I loved dinosaurs and movie monsters, so if I had seen anything like this in the store, I would have begged my parents to get me one just for the box alone.

  3. I have Mr Bama’s original artwork for “Polar Lights Customizing Kit #2” — the one with the vulture. It is a 10 by 24 inch watercolor. This is THE original by Bama. I would like to know it’s value & possibly sell it.
    Thanks
    Joe

    • Greetings Joe, I’m not really a collector of the artwork (I’m more into the models themselves) so I have no idea what an original art peice from Bama would be worth. I would suggest going to one of the forums. Universal Monster Army has some knowledgable people that post there. They have a forum for Model Kits, click that and you’ll see a few links that are specifically for Aurora model kits. The UMA link is above.

Leave a Reply

