Dinosaur Model Kit project

dino model rex CU

Dinosaur Model Kit project – Jan. 2013 – March 2013

Ok, here is where my complete nerd-iness shines through. Let my geek flag fly! When I was young there was a hobby store in my town that would have model-kit building contests every year. I had won trophies for my kit building skills.

Recently, having a little time on my hands, I decided to revisit the days of my youth and build some model-kits. The 1960’s and 1970’s Aurora Prehistoric Scenes Kits were too hard to find at a decent price but I found these Tyrannosaurus and Triceratops model-kits that I believe were released in the 1990’s. As the diorama grew I added other dino’s to build a complete scene, with trees, shrubbery, rock formations and a mountain background.

t rex and triceratops

Diorama elements:

‘Aurora/ Playing Mantis’ model kit – Tyrannosaurus – 1990’s

‘Aurora/ Playing Mantis’ model kit – Triceratops – 1990’s

‘Lindberg’ Ankylosaurus model kit -1990’s

‘Tamiya’ – Creatures of the Mesozoic model kit (baby T. Rex and Parasaurolophus) – 1990’s

Base: 2.5 x 2.5 plywood base

‘Scene-A-Rama’ grass, trees, and rock sculpting kit

‘Testors’ brand model kit paint

The total diorama took me about 2 months to build. I used the plastic base of the Tyrannosaurus but not the one from the Triceratops. I incorporated the T. Rex base into the mountain and rock formations I had built for the scene. The other kits did not include bases.

With the Tyrannosaurus, I followed the color scheme recommended in the kit, but decided to make the eyes orange/red for contrast. For all other kits I deviated from the recommended colors and came up with my own color combinations – mostly because I did not like the recommended colors.

One thought on “Dinosaur Model Kit project

  1. Pingback: Aurora ‘Forgotten Prisoner’ model kit | parlor of horror

Leave a Reply

