The Traveler (2010) – movie review

the traveler pic 2

The Traveler (2010)

A man walks into a small town police station on Christmas Eve. He is solemn, expressionless, stoic. He walks to the officer at the main desk, who is busy cutting paper Christmas ornaments for station decorations. The man says he needs to confessthe traveler poster to 6 murders. He eyes the scissors lying on the desk several times. The less than confident officer freaks out drawing his gun. The lead detective takes the man in for questioning. He confesses to the murders, one at a time, when he feels the time is appropriate. As he describes a death, one of the six officers in the precinct gets murdered. Each time he makes another confession another dies. As the night goes on a back story is revealed that gives reason to the strangers visit. The Traveler is a good supernatural suspense thriller with some effectively creepy scenes. It’s not high action and relies on dialogue and atmosphere to move the story forward so some may find it a tad slow. It’s a small budget and low-key film that works well as a psychological-horror film.

Directed by Michael Oblowitz
Starring: Val Kilmer, Dylan Neal, John Cassini

the traveler pic 1

Well-written and well acted, good for those looking for quiet, old school psychological horror.
I give it a 2.8 out of 5 Christmas confessions on the scale of creepy cop capers!

12 thoughts on “The Traveler (2010) – movie review

  1. I watched it because I love Val Kilmer. Wasn’t a bad movie and he was creepy. Something to keep me entertained and I ‘m about the same with your rating. Just recently watched it again.

  2. Also watched Inkubus again. And since I was iced in I watched Shallow Ground, Vanishing on 7th Street and Bell Witch again. Going to watch Toad Road tonight and see if it’s any good.

  3. I also have passed over this movie on my Netflix list and for some reason, I never start it. Now, I’ll give it a watch. Thanks Michael.

    So, you didn’t dig Twixt? I haven’t watched it yet. Should I avoid it?

      • Oh man! Dracula was amazingly awful. I only made it about 25 minutes in and I had to turn it off. You are right, Drac was very cheap looking and so uninspired.

        I started Twixt and while I didn’t mind too much of what I saw, it did appear drab and boring. I may finish it since I am a Coppola completist.

Leave a Reply

