King Kong vs T. Rex (1933) model kit – kit bash

kk v tr 006

King Kong vs T. Rex

Kit Bash (n) – when a kit builder takes parts of two or more unrelated model kits to create a completely different subject, theme, and model kit diorama.

Long story short. I only recently saw the Mountain Gorilla kit from Revell. As soon as I saw a pic on a web-site I got the idea to use it in a King Kong diorama. I found the Airfix Tyrannosaurus to be the perfect size to simulate the big battle scene from King Kong (1933). Although both of these models are discontinued, I was able to find them on eBay at decent prices.

I built and compiled items for the base myself. I asked fellow kit builder, Murray Wakeman to make the long leaf palm tree (on the left hand side of the diorama). I had seen the tree in one of his creations and knew it would fit well with the scene. (Thanks Murray).

Revell Endangered Animals - Gorilla Airfix - T. Rex

model kits and items:

Revell – Endangered Animals -Mountain Gorilla (1974)

Airfix – Tyrannosaurus Rex – (1977)

Murray’s Long Leaf Palm Tree (2015)

Ann Darrow self- sculpted (and the tree where she sits)

Scene-it trees and plants

Custom base – self made

more test photos 017

Coming soon, Building a Custom Base – check it out at: Mike K’s Youtube channel (Mike K. is me)

2 thoughts on “King Kong vs T. Rex (1933) model kit – kit bash

Leave a Reply

