My THREE Year Bloggiversary! Thanks to my co-bloggers! And followers

anniversary-1x

My THREE Year Bloggiversary! Thanks to my co-bloggers! And followers

Once again, a very special thanks to all the co-bloggers that read, like, and comment on my posts – You all make this worth the effort. The truth is, if I didn’t get ‘likes’ and ‘comments’ on my posts I probably would have quit after year one.

I get 400 to 500 hits a day on Parlor of Horror for all the different posts here. I don’t know if that’s good or bad and I don’t really care as long as I meet new people and share some ideas, and opinions. How many people can you really make a connection with anyway? There are some posts I did in year one and two that continue to get hits every week.

parlorlogo

I hope you like all the different things I do here, not just movie posts, or just book posts, but All Things Horror.

I try to keep up with everyone but I’ll have to admit, if it ain’t a horror flick or book (or sci-fi) you reviewed, or something that a horror aficionado would be interested in, I probably won’t give it a second look…(oh, and I do like some superhero flicks, too!)

Anyways, I’d like to give extra special thanks to you all:

(Every time WordPress makes changes to their site (to make it better?) it makes it harder for me to find you – now it takes me 4 clicks & waiting to open 4 pages to get to your site in a ‘blogs I follow’ search. It took me a couple of hours to get these damn links! So, if you haven’t liked or commented on one of my posts recently, you’re probably not listed here…which also means you’ll probably never see this anyway.)

(It would help if you had your blog listed on your Avatar page)

Vic at Vic’s Movie Den
For some great reviews and for posting my guest spots, and just for being a great guy all around. I hope we can meet one day in person and shoot the breeze, maybe at a horror convention in the city or something 🙂

FringeVoid
For reviewing some of the most far out flicks that peak my curiosity

Laura from FU Only Knew
For the steady stream of book reviews and promotions, not all horror but enough to keep my interest

John at Written in Blood
Who I seem to like the most horror films from your reviews of flicks I hadn’t previously heard of (Like WER and Jugface)

Eric at The IPC
For being one funny MF-er and for ‘Shitfest’

Brian & Brad at Hard Ticket to Home Video
For being another two funny MF-ers

Tim the Film Guy at Tim’s Film Reviews
For reviewing the main stream new films and getting me to want to see them

Dave from Last Road Reviews
For reviewing a lot of exploitation flicks of which I would have totally forgotten about if you didn’t bring them up

Robbin from Robbinsrealm
For your in-depth reviews and articles of some of my fave horror flicks and subjects

Wednesday’s Child from Seven Doors of Cinema
For reviewing obscure horror flicks from the 70’s

FilmScoreHunter from The Cinematic Frontier
For some great reviews of horror flicks we all love

Kim at Tranquil Dreams
Always love your photo assignments

Renae Rude at The Paranormalist
For your interesting, non typical blog posts, you show some great originality

Paul Bower from Scifi Jubile
Who ‘likes’ all my model kits posts and I feel he might get the motivation to do one himself one day when he has some free time

MarkMc2012 from Lasers, Monsters and Barbarians, Oh My!
For liking and reviewing all the old flicks and TV shows I love so much… and his ‘things I learned from this movie’ features

And, Badasses, Boobs and Bodycounts although I don’t listen to pod casts much they have some interesting show subjects.

Some new friends:

Geoff from The Telltale Mind
Who always posts about those great 50’s sci/fi horror flicks that I love so much (and finds some cool pics to go along with them

 

—————-

and more…

Tim at Beermovie.net
Movie Man Jackson
The Angry Scholar

Fiza from InsaneOwl
Anna at FilmGrimoire
JJames Reviews

Teny at Movies of the Soul
JP at The Horror Booth
Tyson Carter at Head in a Vice
Side Kick Reviews
Dan the Man’s Movie reviews
Bubbawheat from Fights, Tights, and Movie Nights

Zoe from Sporadic Chronicles of a BB
Xenolicker…
Leo Craven at Leo Craven.com
Kev at Kev’s Blog
ArcaneHalloween at Precinct1313
Vinnieh from Vinnieh, movie reviews…

Bob Bois at Sitting in Darkness.com
John at Movies Films, and Flix
Joseph at Cinemamonster.com
Dr Humpp’s Curious Collection
Maria Kriva from Your Popcorner
Madeleine Swann’s writing blog 
Kym Darkly from Horror in My Heart
Ryan from Rhino’s Horror
Vern at Vern’s Video Vortex
Newguy87 at Movie Review 101
MikeyB from Screenkicker

If I missed anyone, I’ll probably add them to my list in the next few days, but I can’t do no more searching now, I’m burnt out :(

40 thoughts on “My THREE Year Bloggiversary! Thanks to my co-bloggers! And followers

  1. Uber congrats to you on three years of doing this for little to no pay. You are indeed a brave brave soul. Either that or you are really Stupid. I’m not answering that because I have and will do something even more stupid I will gladly check out the other sites you listed later this week

    • Lol, Vern! Believe me, I’ve done many stupider things in my life 😀 At least I am enjoying what I’m doing here – I’d rather do something I enjoy for free than get paid for something I hate to do. That’s why I only review what I want, I don’t take any free product from promo or publicity companies or even studios – I don’t want to feel obligated to give a review especially if I don’t like something. 🙂

  2. You ‘awl are great, cause even though we don’t always agree about what films and books we like, I still appreciate you stopping by and giving opinions, and/or just leaving a ‘like’ as an aknowledgement that you were there 🙂 I feel the same about the posts I read from all of you. I think there’s a mutual respect between bloggers that doesn’t exist on other social media sites. Unlike FaceBook, we realize that different people can have different views on something and it doesn’t mean their points aren’t valid. Being different is what makes the world interesting, no? 🙂

  3. Thanks for the mention from myself as well Mike. I love your site and plan on checking out and following all of the sites above for if you recommend them, they must be aces.

    Wish I had your hit count, that is a pretty fantastic accomplishment though I have not been at it as long as you.

    Keep up the good work because I sure enjoy reading your posts when they pop up. 🙂

  4. Oh wow I am way behind on thanking you. I got the pingback early Tuesday afternoon Pacific time and I meant to reply then. However, rushing my wife to get us both out the door for work can be distracting and I spaced it off.

    Congratulations on three years, thank you for the mention because it does mean a lot to me and here’s to many more years of the parlor of horror!

    P.S.

    Your mention got me a new follower-The Telltale Mind-so thank you for that, also.

  5. Congrats, Mike! I am very happy for you. Continued success with the page. Your dedication is pretty inspiring, man. I am very grateful and fortunate to have you as a blog brother and friend. Even more lucky that you have helped me out over those years with some of the best posts and content that my little movie page has EVER seen.

    To this day, some of your Lists and Top 5 posts, still get a ton of traffic, and when I share them on Twitter, there is always a great response. I noticed and recognize so many of the bloggers you mentioned above. I visit many of their pages. It is awesome to be in such esteemed company. It is amazing to be part of a great community of like minded people.

    Working with you has been informative, interesting, enlightening and most importantly, a hell of whole lot of fun. Best of the luck for the next 3 years to come, Mike and I am stoked to see what you have in store, not only for me, but for everyone that visits your page on a daily basis. Kudos, bro!

    Vic

    • Oh and I forgot to mention that I appreciate the kind words and mention, bro! I would LOVE to be able to hang out with you one day and shoot the breeze. A horror convention would be dynamite, my man 🙂

  6. I know stats don’t often get talked about too much outside of certain milestones. But for a point of reference, my site gets a very similar amount of traffic as you do with about an extra 100 per day-ish, and I’m coming up on my three year post in a week or two as well. I don’t stop by here too often, but I do see your likes on my posts quite often and I appreciate it. Congrats on your milestone and here’s hoping you continue to enjoy it for the next three years and more!

Leave a comment