Parlor of Horror – 2016 – Year in review

 happy-new-years-eve-2016-images


Parlor of Horror – 2016 – Year in review


I started the year off with reviews of my Top 10 TV Horror movies from the top 1970's TV horror - small1970’s. From The Night Stalker to Trilogy of Terror to Gargoyles to Salem’s Lot, it was a great decade for TV Horror flicks. In the end I did a tally of favorites and a poll, you can check it out here:
Top 10 TV Movies from the 1970’s

 


Creature Features logo

Creature Feature films I reviewed this year included, Attack of the Giant Crabs, Tarantula and 20 Million Miles to Earth.

I would also include, Triclops in this category even though it is a new film (2016).

 


 Identity 2003 - pic 1

After reviewing 1408 and Identity, I decided it would be fun to do a feature on Top Motel/Hotel Horror films, just in time for summer vacation.

 


 

Also, in preparing for Summer I had a feature, Rise of the Furkini, a pictorial showing the ever present Furkini thru the years (2 posts). In between reviewing a rush of summer horror films, I also reviewed several of the early Gamera flicks. (because nothing is hotter than a fire breathing turtle!)


my-top-10-1980s-horror 
(thanks for the ride lady!)

For the Halloween Season, I returned to Top 80s Horror Films – reviewing, Silver Bullet and Creepshow II – and reviewed some more Horror Themed Television Shows. I posted perhaps my favorite article for the year in October’s Horror’s Creepiest Homes in a Guess the Horror House quiz.
dont-be-afraid-of-the-dark-1973


Covering some Classic & New horror TV shows, during the course of the year I posted articles about Ash vs Evil Dead, Stranger Things, Tales From the Crypt and The Outer Limits.

outer-limits-the-galaxy-being-pic-1 top-horror-tv-shows


 


 

best-free-read-award-runner-up 

I held my second annual Halloween Horror Fiction Free Read event highlighting underground writers and their works.

 


 

witches coven

In my Strange but True category I had a feature on Walpurgis Night, a post describing evil grimoires and spell books, and in the fall a feature on Homer Tate and his Roadside Attractions.


In the Horror Art Category, I had 5 posts featuring Dinosaur Fantasy art, followed by a Horror Tattoo pictorial. Later in the year around Halloween I showcased the amazing sculpture art of Chris Andres.

 


moebius-mummy-custom-by-mike-k-pic-12 godzilla-prototype-by-mike-k-pic-10

I built a half dozen horror and Sci-fi themed model kits this year, most of which you can see here, Model Kits 2016

 


 

the-bazaar-of-bad-dreams-book

I reviewed 6 books this year, that’s about 1 every 2 months. Check them out in Horror Book Reviews.


 


 

and now,

THE BEST OF 2016…


Okay, so My Top Horror Films of the Year:

3 – Don’t Breathe

2- The VVitch

1- The Shallows


shin-godzilla-2016

Biggest disappointment:

Godzilla Resurgence – Shin Godzilla

Although I love the end look of Godzilla, the film is just not what I had hoped for and did not remind me of the old Toho films.


batman-vs-superman-pic-19

Surprise Favorite:

Batman vs Superman
after reading all the negatives about the film I enjoyed it quite a bit.


the-bazaar-of-bad-dreams-book Chad Lutzke - of foster homes and flies knockemstiff-book-cover
Best Horror Fiction Books of 2016:

mainstream:
Stephen King – Bazaar of Bad Dreams

indie:
Chad Lutzke – Of Foster Homes and Flies

older entry:
Donald Ray Pollock – Knockemstiff


Overall, 2016 wasn’t a bad year for horror and Sci-fi films. I enjoyed my posts this year, especially the ones that were more quiz-like and challenged my fellow bloggers and readers to think.


As always I’ll have a separate post about my fiction writing, coming soon!

11 thoughts on “Parlor of Horror – 2016 – Year in review

Leave a comment